Grenz named MLC First Team, postseason honors announced

Grenz named MLC First Team, postseason honors announced

NAPERVILLE, Ill. – Christopher Grenz was named to the Midwest Lacrosse Conference First Team, while eight other Concordia University Wisconsin players were also recognized on Monday, the league office announced.

Grenz (sophomore, Centennial, Colo.) led the Falcons defense that was ranked 38th nationally and four in the MLC with a 7.56 goals against average. The defender earned his first postseason league honor after leading the team with 29 caused turnovers and guarded the oppositions best offensive player for most of the season. Grenz was also named MLC Defensive Player of the Week on March 11. He ranks third all-time in program history with 38 caused turnovers.

Junior Justin Krause (Hartland, Wis.) and freshman Danny Bundra (Lake Zurich, Ill.) were each named to the MLC Second Team for their efforts. The second team honor is the first for Krause and the third postseason accolade from the MLC for his career.

Krause finished second on the team with 40 points, four in goals (21), tied for first in assists (19) and third in ground balls (48). The midfielder had eight games with three or more points and seven multi-goal games. Krause set multiple singles game records this season and ranks first all-time in program history for assists (46), ground balls (183) and caused turnovers (42).

Bundra entered the season has the team's primary face-off man and finished 44th nationally and fifth in the MLC with a .599 win percentage. He had 11 double-digit face-off win games and 10-consecutively to end the season. Bundra owns the single season program record for ground balls (84). He was also named MLC Defensive Player of the Week for his efforts on Apr. 8.

Junior Zack Davis (LaPorte, Ind.), freshman Tyson Roe (Duncan, British Columbia), junior Sam Wladyka (Winnipeg, Manitoba), sophomore Matt Larsen (Gurnee, Ill.), junior Kyle Burrell (Calgary, Alberta) and junior Colin Stephenson (Caledonia, Mich.) were all named to the MLC Honorable Mention team.

Davis earned his first postseason conference honor after anchoring the Falcons defense between the pipes. He finished the season with a 7.25 goals against average, which was 29th nationally and 10th in the league. He made 128 saves and stopped a career-best .561 of the shots he faced. Davis also made a career-high 18 saves at Carthage College on Apr. 23.

Roe helped CUW's midfield attack with 23 points (20 goals, three assists). The rookie was fifth on the team in goals and tied for fifth with 32 shots on goal. He had a mid-season stretch of 11 goals during a five-game period.

Wladyka was the Falcons go-to attacker and finished with a team-high 46 points, 32 goals and added 14 assists. He had 12 multi-goal games, began the season with 13 goals (six games) and had a streak of four games with three goals in each. Wladyka ranks first all-time in program history for points (125) and goals (88).

Larsen was another offensive threat for CUW this season with 32 points, 26 goals and six assists. The midfielder tallied three game-winning goals and scored a career-high six goals in a shutout win over Defiance on Apr. 7. Larsen set new single season program records for game-winning goals (3) and shots on goal (52).

Burrell also had the duty of guarding the oppositions best offensive threat and helped the Falcons defense rank among the best in the MLC. He was second on the team with 24 caused turnovers and 62 ground balls. Burrell caused three of more turnovers in five games and was named MLC Defensive Player of the Week for his efforts on Apr. 22.

Stephenson helped CUW both defensively and offensively this season and finished with 12 points (six goals, six assists) and 43 ground balls. He began the season with a career-best six ground balls against Calvin College on Feb. 22 and later had a career-high-tying three points against Benedictine University on Apr. 20.

CUW set a program record with nine victories and tied its best mark with six MLC wins.

MLC Coach of the Year
Kylor Berkman (Aurora University)

MLC Offensive Player of the Year
Max Obriecht (Aurora University)

MLC Defensive Player of the Year
Spencer Fuqua (Aurora University)

MLC Rookie of the Year
Connor Mersch (Benedictine University)

First Team
Adam Holka, Aurora University, GK
Johnny Harkins, Aurora University, D
Corbin Loubert, Aurora University, D
Christopher Grenz, Concordia University Wisconsin, D
Max Obriecht, Aurora University, M
Jesse Nagelberg, Augustana College, M
Mason Poage, Carthage College, M
Garret Rosiek, Aurora University, A
Will McClanahan, College of Mount St. Joseph, A
Danny Morse, Carthage College, A
Spencer Fuqua, Aurora University, LSM
Jack Barry, Aurora University, SSD
Hunter Douglas, Carthage College, FO

Second Team
Cody Burgdorff, Augustana College, GK
Zack McGinnis, Augustana College, D
Mike Liebrich, Fontbonne University, D
Brad Lindsay, Carthage College, D
Justin Krause, Concordia University Wisconsin, M
Jack Meachum, Carthage College, M
Patrick McClanahan, College of Mount St. Joseph, M
Ryan Gallagher, College of Mount St. Joseph, A
Danny Loyall, Aurora University, A
Peter Slefinger, Carthage College, A
Dylan Roach, Carthage College, LSM
Evan Chikeles, Augustana College, SSD
Danny Bundra, Concordia University Wisconsin, FO

Honorable Mention
Jeff Smitheram, Benedictine University, GK
Zack Davis, Concordia University Wisocnsin, GK
Chad Meurer, Fontbonne University, GK
Ty Benson, Augustana College, D
Matt Camarata, Carthage College, D
Jack Albertini, Elmhurst College, D
Sam Kampert, Hanover College, D
Max Wasscher, MSOE, D
Joe Busam, College of Mount St. Joseph, D
Jared Crowley, College of Mount St. Joseph, D
Aaron Barton, College of Mount St. Joseph, D
Justin Bose, Aurora University, M
Robert Abbott, Benedictine University, M
Tyson Roe, Concordia University WIsconsin, M
Brian Furrow, Fontbonne University, M
Luke Karnick, Hanover College, M
Scott Davis, Augustana College, A
Kevin Gleason, Augustana College, A
Connor Mersch, Benedictine University, A
Sam Wladyka, Concordia University Wisconsin, A
Matt Larsen, Concordia University Wisconsin, A
Peter Travis, Fontbonne University, A
Colin Benecke, Fontbonne University, A
Kyle Burrell, Concordia University Wisconsin, LSM
Adam Rowland, Carthage College, LSM
Andrew Miller, Aurora University, SSD
Colin Stephenson, Concordia University Wisconsin, SSD
Andrew Stoffer, College of Mount St. Joseph, FO