Three Universities added to MWLC

NAPERVILLE, Ill. - The Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference (MWLC) approved the addition of three new members during a meeting of conference administrators Thursday.

The University of Dubuque, located in Dubuque, Iowa, and Beloit College, located in Beloit, Wis., will begin play in the MWLC in the spring of 2013, while Elmhurst College, located in Elmhurst, Ill., will begin conference play in the spring of 2014.

Augustana College, located in Rock Island, Ill., Aurora University, located in Aurora, Ill., and Benedictine University, located in Lisle, Ill., were approved as new MWLC members this past spring and will begin conference play in the spring of 2013.

"The sport of women's lacrosse continues to grow throughout the Midwest and that is evident by our recent additions to the Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference," MWLC commissioner Chris Martin said.

"We're excited to be adding our three new members in addition to the new members added in the spring. The addition of all six schools will enhance the conference both on a regional and national level and will continue to enhance the growth of the sport."

With the announcement that the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) will begin sponsoring women's lacrosse in the spring of 2013, 2012 will be the final season of MWLC membership for Adrian, Albion and Trine, giving the conference 10 members in 2013 and 11 in 2014.

The Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference was founded in 2010 and began play in the spring of 2011. It is currently composed of eight NCAA Division III colleges and universities located throughout the Midwest.

The MWLC claims representatives from the states of Michigan (Adrian and Albion Colleges),Wisconsin (Carthage College and Concordia University), Indiana (Trine University), Ohio (College of Mount St.Joseph), Missouri (Fontbonne University), and Illinois (North Central College).